Sunday, 20 May 2018

Latest stunning Jupiter photo from Juno spacecraft


Just when you think you've seen it all from Juno, it gets another amazing picture. This one is from it's latest close flyby in it's elliptical orbit around Jupiter. The last picture I found amazing was the one of the Great Read Spot, a storm that's been storming for hundreds of years and is so big it could fit three Earths in it.

This picture is from Juno on it's way out again after it's 12th close flyby of the planet. We're used to seeing the Great Red Spot on the lower part on photos, but this shows it in the upper part, showing that there's no up or down in space with zero gravity.


Never before Juno have we seen such spectacular images of Jupiter.
Juno took the images used to produce this color-enhanced image on April 1 between 3:04 a.m. PDT (6:04 a.m. EDT) and 3:36 a.m. PDT (6:36 a.m. EDT). At the time the images were taken, the spacecraft was between 10,768 miles (17,329 kilometers) to 42,849 miles (68,959 kilometers) from the tops of the clouds of the planet at a southern latitude spanning 34.01 to 71.43 degrees.

 Citizen scientists Gerald Eichstädt and Seán Doran created this image using data from the spacecraft’s JunoCam imager. The view is a composite of several separate JunoCam images that were re-projected, blended, and healed. Mission Juno